A Royal Enfield forum for the people

By OlBilford
Ok,lads...this may be an ignorant question...but I don’t quite understand the purpose of it, I do know that they will on occasion puke oil...which is part of the question I’m trying to puke out myself, sometimes I see fellas add a fancy little air filter in lieu of the hose to the air box set up they come from Chennai with. Is that a good idea,with the fact that it perhaps will blow as well as suck? What could improper crank case ventilation do ? I’ve seen fellas vent theirs into old cans or bottles fastened to their bike in any array of ways,wouldn’t that make more sense than into our air box? I know all of us have gotten a case of oil filled filter ... if anyone could help clear this up for me,I’d take ya out for a couple tacos...because it seems to be my focus of thought today...
Obd
By swamp2
Well... I'm no expert but, when the piston travels down the bore, it is displacing a bunch of air somewhere - like into the crankcase. That pressure has to be vented off somewhere. Dumping it into the airbox where it can just be sucked back into the intake is the "cleanest" way to get rid of it. So of course, the EPA likes this best, rather than dumping it into the atmosphere. Since there's always some oil sitting around in the crankcase, that breather air will always have some oil particulates in it. If there's a lot of oil down there - like from a leaky oil pump that lets oil drain down there when the engine isn't running - it's gonna get blown out with the air pressure.

This is all pretty normal stuff for those used to dealing with old British crap!
By gashousegorilla